I Like My Coffee Hot So I Brew It Cold ? ? ?

OK SO WHO DOESN’T LIKE A GOOD CUP OF HOT COFFEE ?  JUST LIKE I THOUGHT – NO ONE RAISED THEIR HAND.  GOOD.  NOW THAT WE HAVE ESTABLISHED THAT LET’S MOVE ON TO THE IMPORTANT STUFF.  I PREFER MY COFFEE HOT, UNLESS I AM IN NEW ORLEANS AND IT IS A HUNDRED FRICKIN DEGREES AND AS HUMID AS A WET SOCK IN A CLOTHES DRYER AND I AM STANDING IN LINE AT CAFE DU MONDE – THEN I LIKE ONE OF THEIR “FROZEN CAFE AU LAITS” !

THROUGH A LITTLE TRIAL AND TRIBULATION I HAVE FOUND A PARADOXICAL METHOD TO GET THAT PERFECT CUP OF COFFEE.  I’M NOT SAYING I INVENTED IT, OR I CLAIM IT, THIS IS JUST MY VERSION OF HOW THE BIG  BOYS OF COFFEE DO IT.  YOU WILL END UP WITH A SMOOTH, NON ACID BEARING, CUP OF CONCENTRATED GOODNESS.

TWO PIECES OF ADVICE BEFORE ATTEMPTING THIS AT HOME : THIS PROCESS TAKES A MINIMUM OF 12 HOURS SO PLAN AHEAD, AND BEWARE – – – – IT’S ADDICTING – “COFFEE CRACK” !

WHAT YOU NEED IS COFFEE, WATER, A 32 OUNCE FRENCH PRESS, AND A FINE COFFEE FILTER.  HERE WE GO :

PUT 1 AND 3/4 CUPS OF COARSE OR FINE GROUND COFFEE IN YOUR FRENCH PRESS.  THE FINER THE GRIND THE MORE FLAVOR YOU WILL EXTRACT.  ADD 3 AND 1/2 CUPS COLD WATER AND STIR THOROUGHLY.coldcoffee1

COVER YOUR FRENCH PRESS PITCHER WITH PLASTIC WRAP OR PUT THE PLUNGER ON BUT DONT PRESS AND LET IT STEEP FOR A MINIMUM OF 12 AND UP TO 20 HOURS.

coldcoffee2 AT THIS POINT YOU WANT TO PRESS THE COFFEE.  THE NEXT THING YOU WANT TO DO IS TO STRAIN IT AGAIN THROUGH A FINE MESH STRAINER LINED WITH A COFFEE FILTER.  DO THIS A LITTLE AT A TIME UNTIL YOU HAVE A NICE, SMOOTH, STRONG COFFEE CONCENTRATE.  TRANSFER THIS STRAINED COFFEE ELIXIR INTO A SEALABLE GLASS CONTAINER AND STORE IN YOUR REFRIGERATOR UNTIL READY TO USE (IT’S IS SAFE AND GOOD FOR ABOUT 5 DAYS TOPS).  YOU SHOULD END UP WITH ABOUT 2 CUPS OF EXTRACT.  YOU CAN USE THIS FOR ICED, FROZEN, OR EVEN HOT COFFEE DRINKS.  EVEN MIX IT WITH YOUR FAVORITE LIQUOR IF YOU ARE BRAVE ENOUGH.  I LIKE MINE MIXED AT A RATIO OR 1 PART COFFEE TO 1 AND 1/2 PARTS WATER OR MILK – BUT I LIKE MINE STRONG – FOR MOST OF YOU OUT THERE 1 PART COFFEE EXTRACT TO 2 PARTS WATER OR MILK WILL DO YA JUST RIGHT.

coldcoffee3OH YEAH- ONE MORE TIP – TRUST ME ON THIS ONE – ADD A PINCH, A SMALL PINCH, OF KOSHER SALT TO YOUR COFFEE CONCOCTION BEFORE YA DRINK IT – SOUNDS WEIRD, I KNOW BUT YOU’LL THANK ME FOR IT LATER!  BUENO !

Leave a Reply

